adjective

How to describe the world around you in words.  Impossible.  Yet we try to do just that.  To give life to the way we feel, to try to let others see things the same way we do.  If everyone witnessed things from the same perspective, life would be boring, life would be impossibly different from the way it is.  However, sometimes, all you want is another outlook, a different view on life.

To see the ripples in the pond the way the fish does swimming beneath the water’s surface.  To see the guy riding his bike from the mouse’s view, hiding in the grass as he rushes by.  To soar though the sky like an eagle, not metaphorically but literally.  To actually understand what is it like.  To see inside someone else’s mind.  To have that other perspective.  That is why we write, that is why we wish to capture with words the things that only our imaginations can see.  I hear the birds twittering in the trees – I want you to hear them to.  I want you to hear the way their short chirps cut through the nature’s silence (what is silence in nature?), the way they cut through the music playing through my headphones.  I want you to feel the goose bumps on my legs as the cold wind brushes my bare skin, kissing my pale calves.  I want you to understand the numb that slips into my fingers, then the warmth as I slip them into my pockets and my blood warms them.  I want you to love the squirrel hunting for food in the grass.  I want to know what it thinks when my friend tosses it crumbs.  Trust or suspicion fills its mind as it nibbles on a delicious snack.  It really is too bad it’s cold out.  I want to lie under the stars and type forever.

Leave a Reply

