“Don’t close your eyes / What if it all Disappears in the shadows that reach for the stars?”

I hold my breath and close my eyes
And when I release myself I am no longer here
Sometimes you just need to get away
Sometimes the best way to do it is to just close your eyes
I am no longer me, I am no longer you
I don’t know anything in the silence of my mind
It is all closed off
My breathing is shallow and sometimes hard to make out
Am I really alive? Sometimes it’s hard to tell
The shadows cover the corners, of the room, of my eyes
Screams come from the stars
What once was silent and peaceful
Is broken.

Leave a Reply

