Just Another (Moody) Music Monday

It feels like Christmas just happened and New Year’s Eve was last night…so why am I sitting at my desk at school trying to sort out this coming semester (and completely failing)?

Well, firstly, it’s obvious my school hates students (and professors alike), and doesn’t give a shit that the holidays are hardly a break for anyone.

Secondly, obviously I can’t miss any weeks of class and am therefore preparing for tomorrow.

Who do you carry the torch for, my young man?
Do you believe in anything?
Do you carry it around just to burn things to the ground?

Today this song seems to have echoed my mood and feelings throughout the day – and don’t pretend that it’s the only Brand New song I’m listening to.  Here are some of my favourite lyrics:

-Oh my tongue’s the only muscle on my body that works harder than my heart

Hope you come down with something, they can’t diagnose, don’t have the cure for.

-I hope it rains there all the time. And if you ever said you miss me then don’t say you never lie.

-So, is that what you call a getaway?
Tell me what you got away with.
Cause I’ve seen more spine in jellyfish.
I’ve seen more guts in eleven-year-old kids.
Have another drink and drive yourself home.
I hope there’s ice on all the roads.
And you can think of me when you forget your seat belt,
and again when your head goes through the windshield.

-Well I love you so much, but do me a favor baby, don’t reply, because I can dish it out, but I cant take it.

-Do I divide and fall apart? ’cause my bright is too slight to hold back all my dark

-I’m a mountain that has been moved
I’m a river that is all dried up
I’m an ocean nothing floats on
I’m a sky that nothing wants to fly in
I’m a sun that doesn’t burn hot
I’m a moon that never shows it’s face
I’m a mouth that doesn’t smile
I’m a word that no one ever wants to say.

-You’re shouting so loud you barely enjoy this broken thing; You’re a voice that never sings, is what I say

Do you believe you’re missin’ out
That everything good is happening somewhere else?
But with nobody in your bed
The night’s hard to get through

Hope you have a better Monday than me! Just add: Brand New

Leave a Reply

