Queen of Oz: Lacking

There are some things in life I lack
A heart, a brain, and courage – threefold
These things are important, that’s a fact
To love, to think, to be so bold

To think (if I could) that I had none
It burdened me so that I could not sleep
Mistakes had been made, life was not fun
To such an extent I had to weep

I can’t do this! I said to myself
A useless cycle, a waste of life
To put these problems high on the shelf
To sit around in an endless strife

These attributes began to haunt me
Day and night, awake and dreaming
I wanted to find these things and be set free
I wanted to stop the despair, the tears from streaming

So I remained awake a night to plan
A search, a journey, a quest
One I knew meant for no other man
But for me alone, it was my test.

To stop living in a waking death
To put my foot down and make a name
To be more than some tragic hero like Macbeth
I knew my fate was not going to be the same

A Queen of Oz I would become
But first to set forth on this voyage to collect
Courage, a brain, and a heart, so I did not succumb
To my errors, but rather, they correct.

A mission impossible for me it seemed
I had no armour, no shield for protection
I had to set out as my insides screamed
I couldn’t stand the chance to pause for reflection

Now while the idea was fresh in my mind
Good or not I hadn’t any thought
But without a doubt, change must be brought
A heart to find, and courage bind, and psyche to see and not be blind.

It’s time I believe, I really ought
To start the journey, let the fight be fought
For endurance, honour, love and thought
It’s time to give it all I’ve got.

One comment on “Queen of Oz: Lacking

  1. cathy brady says:

    really enjoyed this one ! :>))

Leave a Reply

