Wonder-Death

I wonder what it is like to die.

I wonder if your breath slowly comes to a stop.  I wonder if you writhe in pain,
I wonder if you twist and turn, contorting your body, resisting the natural flow.

I dream of death, and endless sleep. I dream of surfing that last breath into infinite slumber.

Sometimes I’m frightened of the process, and so I cannot help but wonder

If I die, will I suffer, or will I become enlightened?

Will things move fast or slow?  Will I be cockeyed or completely aware?

I wonder if it feels like suffocating or a peaceful sleep.

I just want the pain to end, and unto me have this death creep.

Leave a Reply

