Why not Wednesday?

Absence.

I am the organizer

I am the planner

I’m the mom

I’m the hostess

I make sure that everyone is settled

Before I feed myself

I make sure that everyone’s happy

Before I’m ever pleased

I am the worrier,

Only for others

I will suffer at the expense

Of someone else’s happiness

I keep track of appointments

I always know the way

When you need something done right

You can come to me.

But the one time,
any of those one times,
that I will need something in return

Silence.

The response is never as fast

As the act that prompts it.

What is fairness and justice

If you expect something in return

anyway

Leave a Reply

