Why Not Wednesday

Part 2 to “The Path of Englightment”

I never whisper.
My voice is loud, a raucous disturbance, ever ignoring the “Shush!”
I am never quiet.

I never hesitate.
Words and ideas spill, tumbling out of my mind.
I eagerly share. I am most often right. I provide solutions.
I never keep silent.

I am always moving.
Desk work is not an option, only an afterthought.
I run, jump, jiggle and squirm, hum and tap my foot to music.
Or no music. There is always something, a magical force unseen, driving movement.
I am never lethargic.

I am always hopeful.
I believe that change is possible, and that we are drivers of it.
I watch Trews, true news, news you can trust, Russell Brand.
I read Jezebel, watch TED talks, push articles on ideas of radical change.
I watch shows that make me laugh, and I dream of writing them one day.
I never despair.

I am happy.
Sure, occasionally I’m down, and then up and then down but then up again.
I am happy when I watch stand up. I am happy at home and at play.
I am sometimes called cynical – this I believe, but I am always an optimist.
I read in escapism, a happy tale with a happy ending.
I am confident and assured. I lead friends to fun and adventure, endless.
I never cry.

I never will
I never will
I never will
I never will
I never will
I never will
I never will

I never will feel trapped in a system of, not an endemic cage of systematic oppression or perjury. I never will allow the purging of the weak and disadvantaged.

If I witness terror, if I am close enough to feel the heat of its breath,
the anguish of inevitably, inescapable…
I will escape. I will help others.
I never will be one with the rich, the oppressors, share that mindset,
that destitution of morality, the greed.
I never will believe that you are that way because you deserve it, but I will take into account what you have been deprived of, what desperate circumstances have brought you here. The deserving sentence being social justice, income equality, equal opportunity.

I may witness the utmost veracity in the irrefutable fact of
violence committed against those unworthy of its abuse
But I never will tolerate it.

I will wreak havoc with the system.
I will be a thorn in its side.
I will hold a candle to the dark.

Perfection is tedium. Consistency is lifeless.
I never will walk this narrow path they’ve laid
which anticipates the death of many.
Mental, Physical and Spiritual Deaths.
I will walk unafraid.

We can dismantle this path together,
knowing it currently leads to
the abyss of anguish
the hollows of hopelessness
a ditch of desperation.

I never will agonize over avarice.
I condemn these useless trivial pursuits and malicious stipends,
ripped from the mouths of babes.

That is never how you build a community
to love, to share, to support.
That is how you destroy a world.
That is useless.

I never will be useless.

Leave a Reply

